Thu, 30 Nov 2023

South Carolina's Aliyah Boston's joins three-time All-American club

Field Level Media
16 Mar 2023, 05:19 GMT+10

South Carolina star Aliyah Boston on Wednesday was named an Associated Press first-team All-American for the third time, making her just the 10th women's player to earn the honor three or more times.

Also on the first team is Iowa star Caitlin Clark, who joined Boston in being a unanimous selection by the 28-person panel. Villanova's Maddy Siegrist, LSU's Angel Reese and Indiana's Mackenzie Holmes also were selected.

"Aliyah has been the best college player in, to me, as many years as she's been honored as an All-American, but definitely the past two seasons," South Carolina coach Dawn Staley said. "I hope that we can really give her flowers while she's still a collegiate athlete because I don't think there will be another Aliyah Boston to ever grace college women's basketball."

Boston averaged 13.3 points and 9.7 rebounds and blocked 64 shots as the Gamecocks went 32-0 in the regular season. Defending champion South Carolina is the No. 1 overall seed for the women's NCAA Tournament.

Boston joins a list of players that included two four-time first-team All-Americans in UConn's Maya Moore and Oklahoma's Courtney Paris. The other three-time honorees are Oregon's Sabrina Ionescu, South Carolina's A'ja Wilson, Baylor's Brittney Griner, Tennessee's Chamique Holdsclaw, Duke's Alana Beard, UConn's Breanna Stewart and Kentucky's Rhyne Howard.

Howard joined the club last season.

Clark, a junior, will have the opportunity to join the exclusive club next season after earning first-team honors for the second straight season. She averaged 27.0 points, 8.3 assists and 7.5 rebounds in 32 games.

Siegrist leads the nation in scoring at 28.9 points and is 16 points away from becoming the fifth Division I women's player to score 1,000 points in a season.

Players earning second-team All-Americans honors were Elizabeth Kitley (Virginia Tech), Diamond Miller (Maryland), Alissa Pili (Utah), Cameron Brink (Stanford) and Olivia Miles (Notre Dame).

Selected to the third team were Ashley Joens (Iowa State), Aneesah Morrow (DePaul), Zia Cooke (South Carolina), Aaliyah Edwards (UConn) and Haley Jones (Stanford).

--Field Level Media

More Massachusetts News

Access More

Sign up for Massachusetts State News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!